I Amsterdam

I cannot even begin to tell you guys how often I’ve been to Amsterdam, but I never grow tired of it!

I went there last week and decided to make a quick stop at the Rijksmuseum, because I had never realised they had an Andy Warhol painting as well. No matter how often I’ve been to a museum, I always see new things and I think that’s the beauty of it too. You don’t have to see everything at once, you can’t anyway. I always try to see one wing at a time, then I have a coffee and contemplate about what I’ve just seen.

As we all know, Andy Warhol loved royals… There are the beautiful paintings of Queen Elizabeth II (which she bought herself two years ago- so she must have liked them too!), but he painted a gorgeous portret of the Dutch queen Beatrix as well:

Image

The only thing I was not too happy about was the position the Rijksmuseum chose to place it, as you can see the light is not too great, and the elevators are situated in the same “room”.

Later that day, when I was having my coffee at the Rijksmuseum, I realised how important the placement of pieces of art is in, and for, a museum. It can really make or break a piece, but luckily some artists are so great that their paintings will stand out even a simple hallway.

Have you ever been to the Rijksmuseum? If so, what did you love most about it?

xxxxxx Valérie

Leave a Reply

